Lunar New Year: Entering the Year of the Dragon

Though incredibly complex, the Chinese zodiac calendar is best described as a 12-year cycle represented by 12 different animals, in this order: Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig.

Your personal zodiac animal sign is determined by your year of birth, meaning 2024 will welcome plenty of baby dragons to the world. Those born in 2025 will be snakes, and so on.

Asian American communities around the U.S. will ring in the Lunar New Year on Feb. 10 with community carnivals, family gatherings, parades, traditional food, fireworks, and other festivities.

In many Asian cultures, the Lunar New Year is a celebration marking the arrival of spring and the start of a new year on the lunar calendar. It’s the most important holiday in China where it’s observed as the Spring Festival. It’s also celebrated in South Korea and Vietnam.

Categorized in: