SAN FRANCISCO – Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., has appointed three judges from federal courts in the Ninth Circuit to lead committees of the Judicial Conference of the United States, the national governing body of the Judicial Branch. The appointees are:

• District Judge Susan R. Bolton of the U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona, named the chair of the Committee on Space and Facilities, which reviews, monitors and proposes policies related to the judiciary’s space and facilities needs. She will succeed Judge D. Brooks Smith of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit;

• Chief District Judge Ricardo S. Martinez of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Washington, named the chair of the Committee on Criminal Law, which oversees the federal probation and pretrial services system and is involved in other aspects of the administration of the criminal law. He will succeed District Judge Irene M. Keeley of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of West Virginia; and

• District Judge David G. Campbell of the U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona, named chair of the Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure, which studies the operation and effect of the general rules of practice and procedure. He will succeed Judge Jeffrey S. Sutton of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

The appointments, which are for three-year terms beginning October 1, 2016, were confirmed this week by the chief justice in letters to each judge.

Judge Bolton has served on the federal bench since 2000. She was previously a judge of the Maricopa County (Arizona) Superior Court and been in private practice in Phoenix. She attended the University of Iowa, where she received her undergraduate degree in 1973 and a J.D. with honors in 1975.

Judge Martinez has been a district judge since 2004 and previously served his court as a magistrate judge for six years. He was also a judge of the King County (Washington) Superior Court and a deputy prosecuting attorney for King County. He received his B.S. from the University of Washington in 1975 and his J.D. from the UW School of Law in 1980.

Judge Campbell came onto the federal bench in 2003. He was previously in private practice in Phoenix. He attended the University of Utah, where he received his undergraduate degree in 1976 and his J.D. in 1979. The new appointments add to the Ninth Circuit’s significant representation in judicial governance nationally. That presence begins with Ninth Circuit Chief Judge Sidney R. Thomas of Billings, Montana, and Senior District Judge Claudia Wilken of San Francisco, who represent the Ninth Circuit on the Judicial Conference of the U.S. In addition, Judge Thomas serves on the conference’s Executive Committee.

Other Ninth Circuit judges leading JCUS committees include Circuit Judge Richard R. Clifton of Honolulu, Hawaii, who chairs the Committee on Federal-State Jurisdiction; Circuit Judge Sandra Segal Ikuta of Pasadena, California, chair of the Advisory Committee on Bankruptcy Rules; Senior District Judge Donald W. Molloy of Missoula, Montana, who leads the Advisory Committee on Criminal Rules; and District Judge Richard Seeborg of San Francisco, who chairs the Committee on the Administration of the Magistrate Judges System.

In addition to some 25 judges serving on JCUS committees, Senior District Judge Jeremy D. Fogel of San Francisco serves as the director of the Federal Judicial Center, while Senior District Judge Charles R. Breyer, also of San Francisco, sits on the U.S. Sentencing Commission.

Categorized in: